Why Responsible Living?

“CARE …a species activity that includes everything that we do to maintain, continue, and repair our ‘world’ so that we can live in it as well as possible. That world includes our bodies, our selves, and our environment, all of which we seek to interweave in a complex, life- sustaining web.” – Fisher and Tronto (1993)

I came across this quote while doing some readings for my masters degree, and it’s kind of stuck with me. It defines my intentions when faced with the (seemingly obvious question) Why should I care about others? Why should I care about the state of the planet? I want everyone to have the opportunities and quality of life that I’ve been offered. I want to ensure that my impact does not impede future generations from the same. I hope you do too.

But it’s confusing, and a bit daunting to make responsible choices. There’s so much misinformation out there, and it seems like you do one thing at the expense of something else. I’d like to educate myself as much as possible, and try to live by my findings.
Leave a Reply

