Why Happy Living?

One of my favorite sayings is “The days are long, but the years are short”. Some days can seem torturously long, but in the blink of the eye I’m welcoming in a new year and thinking “where on earth did the time go?”. I’m not particularly philosophical, but it seems to me that life is a series of moments. You experience each moment vividly, and you can’t fast forward or rewind. It only makes sense to me that I would try to enjoy every moment, not so i’m able to reflect happily on my life at 95, but because in this moment I’d much rather be feeling happiness than sadness. But i’m prone to mood swings, anxiety, and being a shut in – and I don’t always lead my life based on this principle. I’d like to find out how to do this, and I’m hoping recording my attempts here will help.

Here are some quotes that also speak to me:
“When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, I told them they didn’t understand life.”
– John Lennon

“To notice your joys instead of minimizing or discounting them is to become joyous. Notice joy, nourish joy, consciously take advantage of your opportunities to experience joy. Joy known over a long period of time takes you beyond yourself, deepening and expanding your mind beyond the boundaries of your disconnections.”
– Paul Martin on his life with disability

“Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy.”
– Guillaume Apollinaire

Leave a Reply

