Recipes to try: Week of July 22nd, 2013

Down the Internet rabbit hole I went, and so I find myself making a deal with the health-trend devil to eat low-carb. It started when I stopped off at the Happiness Project Blog one morning, and suddenly found myself borrowing Why We Get Fat from the library. It rattles on about our physiology, and explains how the body can only process so much sugar at one time so when an excess is consumed the energy/glucose is stored as fat – thus we should limit high carb/sugar in our diet. Not an uncommon argument, nice to read it from a scientific source, and I’d suggest a free browse through from the library if you’re interested. When mulling it over with my significant other, a science nerd, he says “there’s no doubt you’ll lose weight on a low-carb diet, but if its the healthiest diet overall… I have no idea”. And so, the search for life’s diet answers will continue. My soul hasn’t been dominated by the bread gods for quite some time (except a good croissant or loaf of French bread…mmm), so I thought I might try to see what a low carb, lean meat, high veggie diet might look/feel like.

Here are some recipes for next week:
Chipotle-Lime Chicken
Sour Cream and Cheddar Mashed Cauliflower
Chicken Fajita Roll
Lemon-Tahini Chickpea Salad
Green Curry
Spring Berry Salad
Tomato and fried egg with goat cheese

2 thoughts on “Recipes to try: Week of July 22nd, 2013

  1. Those recipes look great. THanks for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

